Official Languages (Amendment) Act 2021

The Official Languages (Amendment) Bill 2019 was enacted on 22 December 2021. A copy of the new Act is available here.

The provisions in the new legislation include:

The new provisions will be implemented over a period of time.

We are currently reviewing our website to take into account the amendments to the legislation arising from the new Act. We hope to conclude this review early in the New Year. In the interim, if you have any question in respect of any specific provision of the new Act, we can be contacted at or by phone at 091-504006.


Schemes Confirmed

The following language schemes have been confirmed under section 11 of the Official Languages Act 2003.

These statutory schemes remain in force for a period of three years or until a new scheme has been confirmed by the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

The Minister has the right at any time, and no later than 6 months before the scheme expires, to direct the public body to review its current scheme and to prepare a new draft scheme. Where there is a change in the functions of a public body the Minister may, by notice in writing to the public body, propose amendments to its language scheme.

The Office of An Coimisinéir Teanga monitors the provision of services as promised by public bodies under the agreed schemes. The public bodies listed below under the names and with the functions which they had when the schemes were confirmed.

Search Schemes

Organisation Current Schemes Previous Schemes Associated Files
Central Statistics Office
Data Protection Commission
Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine
Department of Children and Youth Affairs
Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht
Department of Defence
Department of Education and Skills
Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment
Department of Environment, Climate and Communications
Department of Finance
Department of Foreign Affairs
Department of Health
Department of Housing, Planning, and Local Government
Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform (Amended Scheme Section 16)
Department of Public Expenditure and Reform
Department of Rural and Community Affairs
Department of Social Protection
Department of the Taoiseach
Department of Transport
Houses of the Oireachtas Service
Office of Public Works
Office of the Attorney General, Office of the Parliamentary Counsel to the Government, Chief State Solicitor’s Office
Office of the Commission for Public Service Appointments
Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General
Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
Office of the Ombudsman and Office of the Information Commissioner
Office of the President
Office of the Revenue Commissioners
Standards in Public Office Commission
The Referendum Commission
Ilikecake Ltd